Flyer Techniques

16 07 2008

Recently, I designed a flyer for my brother, who makes wood crafts and sells them.  I wanted to make an effective flyer that would generate some business for him, because he was just getting started and needed a strong beginning.

So I went back to the basics and thought about the elements that make up a good marketing flyer.  And while I was at it, I figured I would share the results with you.  Here are my tips for making an effective flyer.

Show, Don’t Tell
On my brother’s flyer, I tried to show as many of his products as I could, rather than talk about them.  There is a short list of the products that he offers, but that is the only text on the flyer that has to do with the items he sells.  There are, however, 7 pictures showing the plaques, coffee tables, mirrors, and tissue box covers that he makes.  I am completely certain that those pictures will do far more to entice customers than any amount of words I could have said about them.

Keep it Simple
Along the same lines, you don’t want to include a whole lot of words about anything on your flyers.  In fact, the flyers I made for my brother only have two paragraphs of text, along with the list I mentioned earlier.  Then, at the bottom of the page is his contact information.  I also included a special offer (which I will discuss shortly).  Beyond that, there is no text.  I wanted to keep the flyer as simple as possible, so I didn’t overwhelm any customers.

Offer Something
As I mentioned, I placed an offer on the flyer (with my brother’s permission).  On the side of the flyer, in a very visible fashion, I wrote “20% OFF” in bold text.  Whenever you can offer something tangible to the customers, your flyer will be more powerful.  People love to get something, and they love discounts, so give them what they want.

Provide Plenty of Options
Make it painfully obvious to the readers of your flyers how they can take advantage of your offer.  Make sure to put all of your contact information on there.  If you have a website, make sure it is prominently displayed.    Provide as many ways for them to get in touch with you as possible.

Look Professional
If you have a logo, put it on your flyers.  If you have a slogan, put it on your flyers.  Just be careful not to make these things too prominent.  The most obvious parts of your flyer need to be your special offer and your products.  Still, if you can include a logo and a slogan, you will look more professional.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

